Basilica of Our Lady of Mount Carmel 1913
343 Via Mt. Carmel, Yo., OH 44505
Founded as an Italian ethnic parish to serve Italian immigrant families of Central Youngstown, particularly those living near the present-day church site at 343 Via Mount Carmel (formerly Summit Avenue).
Designed in a Roman architectural style, the basilica features a prominent steeple bell imported from Italy, modeled after bells traditionally used in Italian villages.
On June 12, 1923, a destructive fire severely damaged the church. The Youngstown Vindicator reported that the blaze was most likely set by the Ku Klux Klan, reflecting anti-immigrant and anti-Catholic hostility of the era.
The fire destroyed stained-glass windows, statues, altars, furnishings, and a Holkamp Pipe Organ partially funded by Andrew Carnegie and parishioners.
In 1979, the church building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places because of its association with European immigration and its architecture.
In 2012, the two historically Italian churches in Youngstown became one parish, under the name Our Lady of Mount Carmel – St. Anthony of Padua Parish.
In 2014, Pope Francis designated Our Lady of Mount Carmel Church a minor basilica. The designation placed it in an elevated status of dignity and honor and granted the privilege of creating a coat of arms that incorporates his own.
Today, the basilica remains a major pillar of the community and continues to celebrate its heritage through multiple events, the monthly Spaghetti Dinners, community outreach programs and the annual Mount Carmel Italian Festival.
Sources: Parish Website; Youngstown Vindicator
Basilica of Our Lady of Mount Carmel (12x16)
Angelic Ascent (13x20)
The Path Towards Devine (12x18)
Guardian Angels (16x12)
Silent Gallery (18x12)
Mt. Carmel Nave (13x20)
Gilded Monstrances